WSG member Joachim Enders died on December 7, 2020 in Petersberg near Fulda. According to close friends, he was suddenly and unexpectedly taken from life. In mid-November he was still participating in the WSG annual meeting and in early December in a WSG continuing education online. We mourn the loss of our colleague and honor him with the memory of the WSG portrait, which is one of the first on this homepage.

Joachim Enders was born near Fulda in 1956. He studied in Cologne from 1976 to 1982 with Wilhelm Salber and completed his training in Analytical Intensive Consulting between 1984 and 1988. Already after his studies he returned to Fulda and built up a sphere of activity there, which began with lectureships at universities, adult education centres and nursing schools and culminated in many years of psychotherapeutic and counselling work both in the adult, child and youth sector. Today, he is also active in several working groups and quality circles and finds that the morphological concept of Analytical Intensive Counseling has given him equipment that helps him to structure his manifold tasks and interests.

The core concept of intensive counselling had to make a few compromises in the course of his work as a panel psychotherapist. In the future, Joachim Enders would therefore like to become more independent of the regulations and constraints of the health insurance practice. He would like to offer intensive counselling to commercial enterprises and individuals in the treatment of professional overload ("burnout") in the framework of a private practice.

Joachim Enders is married and has three adult children. He is a passionate collector of African ethnographic objects (sculptures and masks) and is interested in the history of American hip hop, rap and jazz. Museum visits are important to him and he plays the guitar for relaxation. He also enjoys hiking and mushroom hunting. Last year his two Jack Russell terriers died, which now confronts him with the task of continuing to be sporty of his own accord. Like two other colleagues before him, we also submitted our questionnaire to Joachim Enders:

Mr Enders, what do you wish for the future of the WSG?
First and foremost, I hope that the new and differently presented form of the WSG will make it possible to keep morphology alive and morphologists in exchange with each other. I can imagine that in this way psychological morphology can be made known to a wider circle. I myself expect the digital form to expand and vitalize contacts and to offer more room for maneuver in terms of form and content. In this way, statements, articles and reports on current or relevant topics from a morphological point of view, but perhaps also of general interest, can be made accessible. Also the possibility to send a message to other members I would find useful and helpful, for example an updated member list with mail addresses could be published in a non-public area of the website. In my opinion, the exchange in blog form, to which interested members can make contributions, so-called threads, has also proven itself. In this respect, however, I am a technical layman and cannot estimate possibilities and effort.

Which area or phenomenon of human life should be morphologically investigated?
To answer this question, I lack precise knowledge of what has already been investigated. I could imagine investigations on current topics such as the psychological background of the followers of AFD or Pegida. Or the connection between loss of form on the one hand and increased moralization on the other hand as a social phenomenon. It would also be interesting to examine the emergence of the burn-out phenomena that are increasing in the clinical field. Or also the chances and limitations of new digital information formats, which are selected and prepared according to individual interests. In this context, I find interesting the question why the withdrawal of a mobile phone is often the highest possible sanction for a young person.

Through which points of contact did you get to know the psychological morphology?
At the beginning of my studies in Cologne I had heard about a hype about morphology through older fellow students. Enthusiastically and almost reverently they told about it, but sometimes also disparagingly. I think Salber's Freud Lectures convinced me and my early formed working group very quickly and lastingly. One could listen to him for hours and was fascinated. Also by the extensive knowledge, the quick-wittedness and the reading, to which the bon mot was turned: "Wherever you travel, Salber was already there". Lectures on art, psychology, treatment then formed the second significant approach and my today's great interest in the fine and other arts, especially literature, was significantly influenced here.

Which psychological book do you use from time to time?
I love to read in newer and older issues of the magazine anderspiling up on my practice desk. Here Salber has presented his view of morphology over many years, and in varying ways - also for me - has repeatedly refreshed and renewed it. Recently I ordered the large-format edition of Wilhelm Salber's "Art, Psychology, Treatment". It is also on my desk and I keep looking at it. I could only afford the first edition in 1977 as a copy. A stimulating book that shapes my work, exciting and diverse with its "crazy" kaleidoscopes and collages.

Which country would you like to visit one day?
I would like to travel again like this year in October for one week, but then much longer, to the south of Spain. Granada and Cordoba impressed and fascinated me especially in the shape of the mythical hybrid beings Alhambra and mosque-cathedral. There is even more to discover here and to deepen the experience. It is interesting to see the still perceptible interfaces and transitions of the cultural spheres and the possibilities of communication and understanding that can be found everywhere about what Salber might have called a 'material symbol'.

Gestalt and transformation is the central primal phenomenon of psychological morphology: into whom or what would you like to transform yourself for a day?
That too is changing. Currently, I would like - as consigliere of course - to travel to the court of the Nasrid princes of the 14th century in the Alhambra in order to experience the gardens and rooms of the palaces in their original state. As a gardener I could also do that.

Mr Enders, thank you for your answers.

Porträt des WSG-Mitglieds Joachim Enders

Joachim Enders wurde 1956 bei Fulda geboren. Er hat in Köln von 1976 bis 1982 bei Wilhelm Salber studiert und zwischen 1984 und 1988 die Ausbildung in Analytischer Intensivberatung absolviert. Schon nach dem Studium kehrte er nach Fulda zurück und baute sich dort einen Wirkungskreis auf, der mit Dozenturen an Hoch-, Volkshoch- und Krankenpflegeschulen begann und in eine langjährige psychotherapeutische und beratende Tätigkeit sowohl im Erwachsenen, als auch im Kinder und Jugendlichen Bereich mündete. Heute ist er zudem in mehreren Arbeitskreisen und Qualitätszirkeln tätig und stellt fest, dass ihm das morphologische Konzept der Analytischen Intensivberatung eine Ausrüstung mitgegeben hat, die ihm dabei hilft, seine vielfältigen Aufgaben und Interessen zu strukturieren.

Das Kernkonzept der Intensivberatung musste im Rahmen der Tätigkeit als Kassenpsychotherapeut einige Kompromisse eingehen. Perspektivisch möchte sich Joachim Enders daher nun von den Regularien und Sachzwängen der Kassenpraxis unabhängiger machen. Er würde die Intensivberatung gerne Wirtschaftsunternehmen und Einzelpersonen bei der Behandlung von beruflicher Überlastung („Burnout“) im Rahmen einer Privatpraxis anbieten.

Joachim Enders ist verheiratet und hat drei erwachsene Kinder. Er ist ein leidenschaftlicher Sammler von afrikanischen, ethnografischen Objekten (Skulpturen und Masken) und interessiert sich für die Geschichte des amerikanischen Hiphop, Rap und Jazz. Museumsbesuche sind ihm wichtig und zur Entspannung spielt er Gitarre. Wanderungen und das Suchen von Pilzen machen ihm ebenfalls Spaß. Im letzten Jahr verstarben seine beiden Jack-Russel-Terrier, was ihn nun vor die Aufgabe stellt, aus eigenem Antrieb weiterhin sportlich zu bleiben. Wie zuvor zwei anderen Kollegen, legten wir auch Joachim Enders unseren Fragebogen vor:

Herr Enders, was wünschen sie sich für die Zukunft der WSG?
In erster Linie wünsche ich mir, dass es in der jetzt neu und anders präsentierten Form der WSG möglich ist, Morphologie lebendig und Morphologen im Austausch miteinander zu halten. Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass die Psychologische Morphologie auf diese Weise auch einem weiteren Kreis bekannt gemacht werden kann. Ich selbst verspreche mir gerade von der digitalen Form eine Erweiterung und Verlebendigung von Kontakten und einen größeren Spielraum in formaler wie inhaltlicher Hinsicht. So können Statements, Artikel und Berichte zu aktuellen oder relevanten Themen aus morphologischer Sicht, aber vielleicht auch von allgemeinem Interesse zugänglich gemacht werden. Auch die Möglichkeit, anderen Mitgliedern eine Nachricht zukommen zu lassen, fände ich sinnvoll und hilfreich, wozu bspw. eine aktualisierte Mitgliederliste mit Mailadressen in einem nicht-öffentlichen Bereich der Website veröffentlicht werden könnte. Bewährt hat sich aus meiner Sicht auch der Austausch in Blog-Form, zu dem interessierte Mitglieder Beiträge leisten, sog. Threads, mitverfolgen und –gestalten können. In dieser Hinsicht bin ich allerdings technischer Laie und kann Möglichkeiten und Aufwand nicht einschätzen.

Welches Gebiet oder Phänomen des menschlichen Lebens sollte morphologisch untersucht werden?
Zur Beantwortung dieser Frage fehlt mir die genaue Kenntnis dessen, was bereits untersucht wurde. Vorstellen könnte ich mir Untersuchungen zu aktuellen Themen wie die psychologischen Hintergründe der Anhänger von AFD oder Pegida. Oder den Zusammenhang von Formverlust auf der einen, verstärkter Moralisierung auf der anderen Seite als gesellschaftliches Phänomen. Interessant wäre auch die Untersuchung des Zustandekommens der im klinischen Bereich zunehmenden Burn-Out-Phänomene. Oder auch der Chancen und Begrenzungen neuer digitaler Informationsformate, die entsprechend auf die individuellen Interessen hin selektiert und zubereitet werden. Interessant finde ich in diesem Zusammenhang die Frage, warum der Entzug des Handys für einen Jugendlichen oft die höchstmögliche Sanktion darstellt.

Über welche Berührungspunkte haben sie die psychologische Morphologie kennengelernt?
Zu Beginn meines Studiums in Köln hatte ich über ältere Kommilitonen von einem Hype um die Morphologie gehört. Begeistert und fast ehrfürchtig wurde davon erzählt, aber manchmal auch abschätzig. Ich denke Salbers Freud-Vorlesungen haben mich und meine früh gebildete Arbeitsgruppe dann sehr schnell und nachhaltig überzeugt. Man konnte ihm stundenlang zuhören und war fasziniert. Auch von dem umfangreichen Wissen, der Schlagfertigkeit und der Belesenheit, zu der das Bonmot umging: „Wohin sie auch reisen, Salber war schon da“. Die Vorlesungen zu Kunst, Psychologie, Behandlung bildeten dann den zweiten bedeutsamen Zugang und mein heute großes Interesse an der bildenden und sonstigen Kunst, vor allem auch der Literatur, wurde hier wesentlich geprägt.

Welches psychologische Buch nehmen Sie immer mal wieder zur Hand?
Ich lese sehr gerne in neueren und älteren Ausgaben der Zeitschrift anders, die sich auf meinem Praxisschreibtisch stapeln. Hier hat Salber über viele Jahre seine Sicht der Morphologie dargelegt und variierend – auch für mich – immer wieder aufgefrischt und erneuert. Bestellt hatte ich mir unlängst antiquarisch die großformatige Ausgabe von Wilhelm Salbers „Kunst, Psychologie, Behandlung“. Auch sie liegt auf dem Schreibtisch und ich schaue immer wieder rein. Die erste Auflage konnte ich mir 1977 nur als Kopie leisten. Ein anregendes und meine Arbeit prägendes Buch, spannend und vielfältig mit seinen „verrückten“ Kaleidoskopen und Collagen.

Welches Land würden Sie einmal gerne bereisen?
Ich würde gerne noch einmal wie dieses Jahr im Oktober für eine Woche, aber dann deutlich länger, Südspanien bereisen. Granada und Cordoba haben mich insbesondere in Gestalt der mythischen Mischwesen Alhambra und Moschee-Kathedrale nachhaltig beeindruckt und fasziniert. Hier gibt es noch mehr zu entdecken und das Erlebte zu vertiefen. Interessant die noch spürbaren Schnittstellen und Übergänge der Kulturkreise und die überall auffindbaren Vermittlungs- und Verständnismöglichkeiten über das, was Salber vielleicht ein ‚materiales Symbol‘ genannt hätte.

Gestalt und Verwandlung ist das zentrale Urphänomen der psychologischen Morphologie: in wen oder was würden sie sich gerne für einen Tag verwandeln?
Auch das wandelt sich. Aktuell würde ich gerne – als Consigliere natürlich – am Hof der Nasriden-Fürsten des 14. Jahrhunderts in der Alhambra unterwegs sein, um die Gärten und Räume der Paläste im Original erleben zu können. Als Gärtner ginge auch.

Herr Enders wir bedanken uns für Ihre Antworten.