Dr. Norbert Endres celebrated his eightieth birthday on April 11, 2021. The WSG portrait informs about the long and fruitful path he has taken together with Psychological Morphology. 

Portrait Norber EndresDr. Norbert Endres, former Academic Senior Counselor at the Psychological Institute of the University of Cologne, belongs to the second generation of assistants of Wilhelm Salber. After studying to become a teacher with the First State Examination (1963) in Würzburg and the intermediate diploma in psychology at the university there, he continued his studies in Cologne at the Institute of Psychology (Diploma 1968). With a thesis on "Structural Research in University Didactics" - the empirical reconstruction of a Salber Seminar in the SS 1969 served as a case study - he received his doctorate in 1974. After two years of teaching at the Pädagogische Hochschule Rheinland, he returned to the Psychological Institute for a senior council position and became involved in the diploma course with a broad range of courses for the further development of the morphological viewpoint in psychology.

Dr. Norbert Endres is one of the founding members of GPM and WGI. As a teaching consultant of the WGI he was involved in the implementation of seminars, self-awareness groups and teaching analyses until 2009. From 1980 to 1991 he completed an Analytical Training at the Alfred-Adler-Institute in Düsseldorf and gained experience with short therapies with Ernest Freud within the framework of the "Cologne Experiment" (Salber 1980). Together with D. Blothner, Dr. Norbert Endres published the commemorative publication "entschieden psychologisch" (Bonn 1993) for Wilhelm Salber. Since 2007 he is co-editor of the 'Werkausgabe Morphologische Psychologie'. He retired in 2006. He fulfills his love for choral music as a member of two cantorias. He is involved in the work of the board of directors of a non-profit association in Erftstadt. At the same time he enjoys watching five grandchildren grow up.

Dr Endres, what do you wish for the future of the WSG?
When the Gesellschaft für Psychologische Morphologie (GPM), the forerunner of the WSG, was founded in 1993 after Professor Salber had retired, it was not least of all a matter of creating a place of scientific self-assurance for the meanwhile manifold implementations of morphology by his students. The WSG was to maintain and cultivate this place as a place for lively debate but also for safeguarding the essentials of morphological psychology. The history of comparable societies shows that sibling rivalries cannot be avoided, but this should not really be a problem.

Which area or phenomenon of human life should be morphologically investigated?
In my opinion, morphological studies are less concerned with a specific area than with working on the image of an "Ovidian" transformational reality, which is virulent in all (!) phenomena with its drama. Salber's book "Der Alltag ist nicht grau" (1989) has shown this. Of course, it is important to be captivated by one's own research topics. The 'Metamorphoses of the Religious', for example in climate apocalypticism, would be one such topic for me.

Through which points of contact did you get to know psychological morphology?
In the first lecture I attended in the winter semester of 1960 with Salber on 'General Psychology' in Würzburg, there was much talk of form. In SS 63, the lecture of the same name then only dealt with the psychology of action units and their conditions. When I came to Cologne in 1966, the "Morphology of mental events" was finally available in print. I had the great fortune to experience the further development of psychological morphology at first hand and to be allowed to participate in it - until today, when we can speak of morphology as a school of modern psychology.

Which psychological book do you use from time to time?
In any case it is a book by Wilhelm Salber. In the last years it was probably the "Soul Revolution" (Bonn 1993), which with the abundance of its psychological exaggerations enriches my learned understanding of history while reading it again and again and shows in exchange with fairy tales at all, which reality finally moves our history. Also valuable to me is Salber's examination of Goya's black pictures ("Undinge", Bonn 1994). In four tours it provides a very memorable example of the morphological method and its metapsychological prerequisites. Furthermore, in the manifestations of 'possession' she moves a reality that one will probably never quite be able to cope with.

Which country would you like to visit?
Russia on the trail of F.M. Dostoyevsky. I would be curious to see how much 'Slavic soul' there is still to discover?

Gestalt and transformation is the central primal phenomenon of psychological morphology. Who or what would you like to change into for a day?
I experience a lot of joy when singing, but I also experience the limitations of my voice. Therefore I would like to transform myself into the wonderful tenor of Jonas Kaufmann, for example when he sings "Lohengrin".

Dr. Endres, thank you for the interview.

Porträt des WSG-Mitglieds Dr. Norbert Endres

Porträt Norber EndresDr. Norbert Endres, vormals Akademischer Oberrat am Psychologischen Institut der Universität zu Köln, gehört zur zweiten Assistentengeneration von Wilhelm Salber. Nach einem Lehrerstudium mit Erstem Staatsexamen (1963) in Würzburg und dem Vordiplom im Fach Psychologie an der dortigen Universität hat er sein Studium in Köln am Psychologischen Institut fortgesetzt (Diplom 1968). Mit einer Arbeit über “Strukturforschung in der Hochschuldidaktik”- als Fallbeispiel diente die empirische Rekonstruktion eines Salber-Seminars im SS 1969 – wurde er 1974 promoviert. Nach zweijähriger Lehrtätigkeit an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Rheinland kehrte er auf eine Oberratstelle ins Psychologische Institut zurück und engagierte sich im Diplom-Studiengang mit einem breit gefächerten Lehrangebot für die Weiterentwicklung der morphologischen Sichtweise in der Psychologie.

Dr. Norbert Endres gehört zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der GPM und der WGI. Als Lehrberater der WGI war er bis 2009 an der Durchführung von Seminaren, von Gruppen zur Selbsterfahrung wie an Lehranalysen beteiligt. In der Zeit von 1980 bis 1991 hat er eine Analytische Ausbildung am Alfred-Adler-Institut in Düsseldorf absolviert und im Rahmen des “Kölner Experiments” (Salber 1980) Erfahrungen mit Kurztherapien bei Ernest Freud gesammelt. Mit D. Blothner hat Dr. Norbert Endres die Festschrift “entschieden psychologisch” (Bonn 1993) für Wilhelm Salber herausgegeben. Seit 2007 ist er Mitherausgeber der ‘Werkausgabe Morphologische Psychologie’. Im Jahre 2006 ging er in den Ruhestand. Seine Liebe zur Chormusik erfüllt er sich als Mitglied in zwei Kantoreien. Er engagiert sich in der Vorstandsarbeit eines gemeinnützigen Vereins in Erftstadt. Zugleich genießt er es, fünf Enkelkinder heranwachsen zu sehen.

Herr Dr. Endres, was wünschen Sie sich für die Zukunft der WSG?
Als die Gesellschaft für Psychologische Morphologie (GPM), die Vorläuferin der WSG, nach der Emeritierung von Professor Salber 1993 gegründet wurde, ging es nicht zuletzt darum, für die inzwischen vielfältigen Umsetzungen der Morphologie durch seine Schüler einen Ort vor allem auch der wissenschaftlichen Selbstvergewisserung zu schaffen. Diesen Ort als Bereitstellung lebendiger Auseinandersetzung aber auch als Sicherung der Essentials der Morphologischen Psychologie sollte die WSG erhalten und pflegen. Dass dabei Geschwisterrivalitäten nicht zu vermeiden sind, zeigt die Geschichte vergleichbarer Gesellschaften, sollte aber nicht wirklich stören.

Welches Gebiet oder Phänomen des menschlichen Lebens sollte morphologisch untersucht werden?
Nach meiner Einschätzung geht es bei morphologischen Untersuchungen weniger um ein bestimmtes Gebiet als um die Arbeit am Bild einer “ovidischen” Verwandlungswirklichkeit, die mit ihrer Dramatik in allen (!) Phänomenen virulent ist. Das hat Salbers Buch “Der Alltag ist nicht grau” (1989) gezeigt. Wichtig ist natürlich, dass man sich von seinen eigenen Forschungsthemen auch fesseln lässt. Die ‘Metamorphosen des Religiösen’ z.B. in der Klimaapokalyptik wäre für mich so ein Thema.

Über welche Berührungspunkte haben Sie die Psychologische Morphologie kennengelernt?
In der ersten Vorlesung, die ich im WS 1960 bei Salber zur ‘Allgemeinen Psychologie’ in Würzburg gehört habe, war viel von Gestalt die Rede Das Stichwort Morphologie kommt in meinen Aufzeichnungen von damals gar nicht vor. Im SS 63 beschäftigte sich die gleichnamige Vorlesung dann nur noch mit der Psychologie von Handlungseinheiten und ihren Bedingungen. Als ich 1966 nach Köln kam lag die “Morphologie des seelischen Geschehens ” schließlich gedruckt vor. Ich hatte das große Glück, auch die weitere Entwicklung der Psychologischen Morphologie hautnah zu erleben und daran mitwirken zu dürfen – bis heute, wo wir von der Morphologie als einer Schule der neueren Psychologie sprechen können.

Welches psychologische Buch nehmen Sie immer mal wieder zur Hand?
Auf jeden Fall ist es ein Buch von Wilhelm Salber. In den letzten Jahren war es wahrscheinlich die “Seelenrevolution” (Bonn 1993), die mit der Fülle ihrer psychologischen Zuspitzungen mein gelerntes Geschichtsverständnis beim Lesen immer wieder neu bereichert und im Austausch mit Märchen überhaupt zeigt, welche Wirklichkeit unsere Geschichte letztlich bewegt. Wertvoll ist mir auch die Untersuchung Salbers zu den Schwarzen Bildern von Goya (“Undinge”, Bonn 1994) . In vier Rundgängen liefert sie ein sehr einprägsames Beispiel der morphologischen Methode und ihrer metapsychologischen Voraussetzungen. Darüber hinaus bewegt sie in den Erscheinungsformen von ‘Besessenheit’ eine Wirklichkeit, mit der man wohl nie ganz fertig wird.

Welches Land würden Sie gerne einmal bereisen?
Russland auf den Spuren von F.M. Dostojewski. Gespannt wäre ich darauf, wieviel ‘slawische Seele’ es da wohl noch zu entdecken gibt?

Gestalt und Wandlung ist das zentrale Urphänomen der psychologischen Morphologie. In wen oder was würden sie sich gerne für einen Tag verwandeln?
Ich erlebe sehr viel Freude beim Singen, erfahre dabei aber auch sehr die Begrenztheit meiner Stimme. Gerne würde ich mich deshalb einmal in den wunderbaren Tenor von Jonas Kaufmann verwandeln z.B. wenn er den “Lohengrin” singt.

Herr Dr. Endres, wir bedanken uns für das Gespräch.